WHO declared Guinea Ebola free

WHO declared Guinea Ebola free

Guinea was declared free of Ebola virus, leaving Liberia as the only country still awaiting a countdown for the end of the epidemic.

There were more than 3,800 Ebola cases in Guinea out of more than 28,600 cases globally. Almost all the cases and deaths were reported from three West African countries- Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

  • Sierra Leone was declared Ebola free in November and it now enters a 90-day intensive surveillance period.
  • Liberia was declared Ebola-free in May and September, but each time new cases emerged. It has lost more than 4,800 people to the haemorrhagic fever, but if all goes well will be declared virus-free in January, 2016.

Criterion for such declaration

  1. Free of Ebola transmission: A country must go through 42 days equal to two incubation periods of 21 days without an Ebola case in order for WHO to declare it free of Ebola transmission.
  2. Intensive surveillance period of 90 days: if no incidence is observed then the country is declared Ebola free.

Ebola virus disease

  1. Is a viral heamorrhagic fever
  2. It effects only human and other primates
  3. Symptoms: fever, muscular pain, diarrhea, internal and external bleeding, low pressure.
  4. Spread mechanism: direct contact with body fluid like blood of an infected animals
  5. Natural carrier: Fruit Bat (also called flying fox or megabites)
  6. EVD in humans is caused by four of five viruses of the genus Ebola virus. They are
  • Bundibugyo virus (BDBV),
  • Sudan virus(SUDV),
  • Tai Forest virus(TAFV),
  • Ebola virus (EBOV, formerly Zaire Ebola virus). It is the most dangerous of the known EVD-causing viruses, and is responsible for the largest number of outbreaks.
  • Reston virus,(RESTV), is not thought to cause disease in humans, but has caused disease in other primates.

Map of Ebola affected countries






Please follow and like us:
error: Content is protected !!